Scene/Sequence Level Transmedia Design Tasks

The fourth level of design tasks is at the scene/sequence level. This is the level at which the design decisions made earlier in the transmedia narrative design process are used in the development of narrative content. Story concepts and narrative structure are translated into individual scenes and sequences and the story’s characters, settings, and events come alive. This is also the level at which decisions on user engagement and interactions are implemented.

Table 1. Scene/sequence level design tasks

Scene/Sequence Level Design Tasks

Narrative Design

Engagement Design

Interaction Design

  • Develop detailed storyboards
  • Create scene/sequence
  • Select/create characters
  • Select/create settings
  • Select/create significant object(s)
  • Design scene/sequence for active participation
  • Design scene/sequence elements for affective participation
  • Design scene/sequence elements for sensory participation
  • Identify media/platforms for individual sequences/scenes
  • Design information cascades
  • Develop calls-to-action
  • Develop cognitive maps
  • Design information field

    Develop detailed asset list

The transmedia narrative designer will need to use the information developed at the earlier levels to guide design and development at the scene/sequence level. However, as with the other levels of the transmedia narrative design process, design decisions made at this level may require modification of earlier decisions. This is a normal part of the iterative design process that is typical of transmedia narrative projects.

Send to Kindle
1 2 3 4 15